Cathy Ramos

Cathy Ramos

1. When and how did you come to work at your practice?

I had moved to Fairbanks, Alaska in September 2013, all my new friends worked during the day and I had no one to play with so I decided to go back to work in December 2013.

2. WHY did you become a veterinarian / veterinary professional?

I have worked in the customer service field for many years. When I applied for the job, it was as a receptionist, which I did for about 5 years before becoming a technician in training.

3. Tell me a STORY about one specific animal or event related to animals that inspired you.

White toes, lab mix. When I first met White toes, he was labeled with a caution sign that said might bite and use a muzzle. When he was 9 years old, he had gotten sick and had to stay with us for from July thru September 2007 during that time, he learned to trust us and when he left, he no longer growled or tried to bite us. From that time, until he passed away he would come to the office and acted as if he owned. White toes always had a happy trot and would cruise the joint if the exams room doors where open to the back. He would stop by for a visit, always wanting a pat and hug.

4. HOW did you become a veterinarian / veterinary professional?

As a military wife, there are many jobs and many places. I have worked in the financial field in MD, GA, CA, and AZ.

5. What do you enjoy most about your job and WHY?

Cleaning ears: plucking hairy ears, cleaning infected ears I love when the dogs talk back to you when hit the sweet.

Tnt (toe nail trim): you go from tap, tap to sleuth mode.

6. What are your personal origins?

Born and raised as Air Force Brat. I have lived in Japan for 3 years. Spain 5 years drove thru Europe camping. Avid reader and played the family clarinet for about 5 years. I grew up with a younger brother and both parents.

7. Who is in your family now and what are their interests (including pets)?

2013, I started with three Great Danes (Dutch, Daisy, and Dash), one German Shepard (Nanook), and a black cat (Lindt). This fall I lost Dutch and Nanook. I married my High School Sweetheart out of school that was 33 years ago. Have a son who made me a grandma about 3 years, and I now have two beautiful granddaughters. My daughter is pursuing a BA at UAF.

8. What are your personal interests and achievements?

As child, I was avid reader which I still am today, and I have learned quilt. I ran the Disneyland 2013 Dumbo Dare 10K, and 13.1-mile run on the same weekend. In February 2014 Walt Disney World Princess Glass Slipper 10K, & 13.1-mile run will be ran the same weekend, this will be my third year of running the Princess 13.1- mile run.